How many states Ganga river flows in India?

11 states
About 79% area of Ganga basin is in India. The basin covers 11 states viz., Uttarakhand, U.P., M.P., Rajasthan, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Bihar, West Bengal and Delhi.

In which states river Ganga flows?

The Ganges passes through the states of Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, and West Bengal. The Ganges drainage area with its productive land is helpful for the agrarian economies of Bangladesh and India.

Where is the river Ganga?

The River Ganges emerges in the western Himalayas and flows down across northern India into Bangladesh, where it empties into the Bay of Bengal. Nearly 80% of the Ganges river basin is in India, the rest is in Nepal, China and Bangladesh.

Which river flows in which state in India?

Rivers in India – Length and Touching States

Name of Rivers Touching States Ends in
Ganga Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, West Bengal Bay of Bengal
Yamuna Uttarakhand,Himachal Pradesh,Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Delhi Bay of Bengal
Brahmaputra Assam, Arunachal,Tibet Bay of Bengal
Mahanadi Chhattisgarh, Odisha Bay of Bengal

Which state Ganga flows most?

The 2,525 km (1,569 mi) river rises in the western Himalayas in the Indian state of Uttarakhand, and flows south and east through the Gangetic plain of North India into Bangladesh, where it empties into the Bay of Bengal. It is the third largest river on Earth by discharge.

Which is the 2nd largest river in India?

The Godavari
The Godavari is India’s second longest river after the Ganga.

Who is the longest river in India?

At over three thousand kilometers long, the Indus is the longest river of India. It originates in Tibet from Lake Mansarovar before flowing through the regions of Ladakh and Punjab, joining the Arabian Sea at Pakistan’s Karachi port.

Which is our national river?

The Ganga or Ganges is the longest river of India flowing over 2,510 kms of mountains, valleys and plains. It originates in the snowfields of the Gangotri Glacier in the Himalayas as the Bhagirathi River.

Which city is called city of rivers?

Which city in India is called City of Rivers?

# City (India) River
1. Delhi Yamuna
2. Agra Yamuna
3. Patna Ganga
4. Haridwar Ganga

Where does the Ganges river start and end?

The river starts from a glacier called Gangotri Glacier , which is in the Garhwal region in Himalayas . The Ganges flows through north India, and ends at the Bay of Bengal in eastern India. Overall it flows 3,877 km making it one of the longest rivers in the world.

Why is the Ganges River important?

Ganges River plays an important role in the life of Indian people. The river is used for irrigation, transportation, and fishing and the Gangetic Plain is one of the most fertile and densely populated places on Earth.

Where is the Ganges river in ancient India?

The River Ganges, also known as the Ganga, flows 2,700 km from the Himalaya mountains to the Bay of Bengal in northern India and Bangladesh. Regarded as sacred by Hindus, the river is personified as the goddess Ganga in ancient texts and art.

Where are the Indus and Ganges rivers located?

The Indus and the Ganges Rivers start in the Himalayas and then the Indus river empties into the Arabian Sea and the Ganges River empties into the Bay of Bengal .