Is Theory of Knowledge SL or HL?

Subjects at HL are studied in greater depth and breadth than at SL. In addition, three core elements—the extended essay, theory of knowledge and creativity, activity, service—are compulsory and central to the philosophy of the programme.

Who made theory of knowledge?

Theory of Knowledge by Bertrand Russell.

What is IB areas of knowledge?

There are 8 Areas of Knowledge, these are: Mathematics, the Natural Sciences, the Human Sciences, History, The Arts, Ethics, Religious Knowledge and Indigenous Knowledge. Each Area of Knowledge is a system. Within each AoK system there are agreed ways to investigate things.

Is IB Theory of Knowledge philosophy?

As such the TOK course is very different to all other IB courses. Some of the key differences are: the syllabus consists of ideas and questions to be discussed rather than information that students have to learn; TOK is not a philosophy course.

What is Theory of Knowledge in simple words?

Theory of knowledge (TOK) is assessed through an oral presentation and a 1,600 word essay. It asks students to reflect on the nature of knowledge, and on how we know what we claim to know. TOK is part of the International Baccalaureate® (IB) Diploma Programme (DP) core, and is mandatory for all students.

What is the meaning of theory of knowledge?

Epistemology, the philosophical study of the nature, origin, and limits of human knowledge. The term is derived from the Greek epistēmē (“knowledge”) and logos (“reason”), and accordingly the field is sometimes referred to as the theory of knowledge.

What is the purpose of theory of knowledge?

TOK aims to make students aware of the interpretative nature of knowledge, including personal ideological biases – whether these biases are retained, revised or rejected. It offers students and their teachers the opportunity to: reflect critically on diverse ways of knowing and on areas of knowledge.

What are the 5 areas of knowledge?

To ensure both breadth and depth of knowledge and understanding, students must choose at least one subject from five groups: 1) their best language, 2) additional lan- guage(s), 3) social sciences, 4) experimental sciences, and 5) mathematics.

What are IB areas of knowledge?

The IB originally had six areas of knowledge: mathematics, natural sciences, human sciences, history, the arts and ethics. In the fall of 2014, the IB curriculum changed to include two more areas of knowledge: religious knowledge systems and indigenous knowledge systems.

What is the theory of knowledge?

Theory of Knowledge involves “critical thinking and inquiring into the process of knowing”. The process of knowing is the way in which students and ‘ knowers ’ in general acquire, produce and gain knowledge.

What is the theory of Knowledge course?

Theory of Knowledge is a course created by the IB organization and must not be conceived as pure epistemology. Nov 11 2019