What are the 12 major scales for bass guitar?

These are the major scales for each of the 12 notes in the musical alphabet – A, Bb, B, C, Db, D, Eb, E, F, F#, G, Ab. The diagrams display all notes for each major scale across the fretboard through the 12th fret.

What scales do bass lines use?

4 Essential Bass Guitar Scales: A Beginners Guide

  • The Major Scale. The major scale is the most common and important type of bass scale.
  • The Minor Scale. Standing in sharp contrast to the Major scale, the Minor scale has a darker, more murky tone.
  • The Major Pentatonic Scale.
  • The Minor Pentatonic Scale.

What scales should I learn first on bass?

The major scale is one of the first bass scales you should learn. Knowing the intervals between the notes of a major scale is important in understanding all other scales.

How do bass modes work?

The common order of these modes is: Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aeolian, and Locrian….The Seven Main Modes (Scales) for the Bass Guitar.

Mode Relation to Major or Minor Scale
Aeolian (natural minor) Minor scale
Dorian Minor scale with regular 6th
Phrygian Minor scale with flat 2nd
Locrian (half-diminished) Minor scale with flat 2nd and flat 5th

What is a major on bass?

Building A Major Scale A half step, or semitone, is the distance between two notes played one fret apart from each other on the bass. A whole step, or tone, is a distance of two frets. In a major scale, the formula is whole, whole, half, whole, whole, whole, half.

What is the purpose of bass scales?

Scales are simply a way of categorizing and identifying particular sounds found in music. They help organize what you and others hear in music. Practicing scales on bass will help you learn where to find particular sounds on the fretboard and mentally organize your understanding of music.

Are bass scales the same as guitar scales?

Bass guitar scales are the same as scales for piano, electric guitar, etc, so a bass guitar scales chart will show the same notes and key signatures as scales for any other instrument, except that the scales will be written on the bass clef, shown below. Take a look at the bass guitar scales chart in the following example.

What are the 7 guitar modes?

Modes come from scales. Each degree of the scale represent a mode so we have 7 modes. For the Major scale the modes are: Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolidian, Aeolian, Locrian. You can number each mode with a roman number following the degree of the scale so the Ionian mode is I, the Dorian mode is II, the Phrygian mode is III and so on.

What are the modes of a scale?

A Mode is a type of scale. For example, Modes are alternative tonalities (scales) that can be derived from the familiar major scale by starting on a different scale tone. Music that uses the traditional major scale can be said to be in the Ionian Mode . There are seven Modes: Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aeolian, and Locrian.

What are the modes of a major scale?

Every major scale has 7 modes, the modes are called Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aolian & Locrian. The major scale is called the Ionian mode and the relative minor is the Aolian Mode — so you already know 2 of them — that just leaves 5 left to learn!