What do I need to get my car inspected in Texas?
- Proof of liability insurance: any current state insurance is acceptable.
- Payment: Official Inspection Station accepts cash, check and credit cards (Visa & Master Card and Apple Pay). Texas state law requires that payment is made whether your vehicle passes or fails inspection.
- Photo ID: this must be current and valid.
What is a VTR 270 form?
VTR-270 Form is used by residents of Texas for a Vehicle Inspection Report to obtain a vehicle safety inspection station to self-certify a vehicle identification number (VIN). VTR-270 Form is a Vehicle Identification Number Certification for Texas.
What is a vehicle inspection report in Texas?
Vehicles registered in Texas are required to pass an annual inspection to ensure compliance with safety standards. While safety inspections are required throughout the state, emissions testing is required of vehicles inspected in 17 Texas counties to comply with federally mandated clean air requirements.
How long is a Texas vehicle inspection good for?
The vehicle must be inspected within 90 days of the registration expiration date, or 180 days for a used vehicle sold by a dealer. The bill requires DMV or the county tax assessor-collector to collect the state portion of the inspection fee at the time of registration and registration renewal.
How much does a car inspection cost in Texas?
The cost to have a passenger car, truck, or SUV inspected in Texas is $25.50. However, drivers do not pay this fee at the testing station. Instead, they submit it to the state when renewing their registration.
What is a VIR in Texas?
Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) Proof of Out-of-State Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Certification. A vehicle last registered or titled outside of Texas must pass a safety inspection, and the VIN must be verified by a state appointed safety inspection station before filing an application for Texas title.
What is a VTR-68-a?
A Form VTR-68-A is an inspection conducted by a law enforcement officer to verify the identify of a vehicle for registration purposes. The Austin Police Auto Theft Unit conducts 68-A Inspections for residents with an Austin home address.
Does Texas require a vehicle inspection every year?
All Texas registered vehicles are required to receive an annual inspection. All inspections include a comprehensive safety inspection; however, some vehicles are required to have an emissions test in addition to the safety inspection.
Do I need a vehicle inspection every year in Texas?
Do I need inspection before registration in Texas?
A: Yes, the Dept of Motor Vehicles now requires every vehicle to pass a safety inspection before they allow a vehicle to be registered in the Great State of Texas.
What are the Texas vehicle inspection requirements?
Required Documents to Pass Texas Vehicle Inspection Liability insurance or at least proof that you have one, this can be from any current state. Current and valid photo ID, if you are registering the vehicle for the first time you will need a photo ID in order to obtain your V1-30 green sheet. Finally you must ensure that you have the payment.
Does Texas have car inspections?
As stated, Texas does have a safety inspection requirement, and car owners can visit approved facilities such as garages and repair shops, to get the inspections done. A facility approved for inspections has to ensure that those providing them have certification as well.
How much is a car inspection in Texas?
To complete a vehicle safety inspection in Texas, visit a DPS-certified inspection station and bring the $7.50 safety inspection fee. The state’s portion of the fees varies based on vehicle age, type, and location, and are due at the time of registration or renewal – not during the safety inspection.
Will Texas do away with car inspections?
After lengthy debate, the Texas Senate voted to do away with annual state vehicle inspections . Lawmakers approved Senate Bill 1588 by a vote of 27-4 – dropping the current mandate for all personal vehicles to undergo annual state safety inspections. The change, which would take effect in March 2018, changes a statewide policy imposed in 1951.