What are the different grades of doctor?

Grades of Doctors

  • Foundation Year 1 Doctors. They only include training and non-training FY1s.
  • Senior House Officers. They can also be known as Junior Clinical Fellows.
  • Middle-Grade Doctors (Junior Registrars)
  • Senior Doctors.

What are the levels of doctors in UK?

All medical doctors start as medical students and typically continue training until they become a consultant, GP (general practitioner) or SAS (staff grade, associate specialist and specialty) doctor.

What level is an SHO doctor?

junior doctor
SHO – is the old term for a junior doctor in training now replaced by ST1 – ST2 – ST3. Also known in some hospitals as Clinical Fellow.

What is a staff grade doctor?

In the United Kingdom, a staff grade doctor or dentist (now called SAS grades) is one who is appointed to a permanent position. They will have been appointed into this position based on experience and their CV and not all doctors will have done post-graduate examinations to reach this position.

Is a fellow higher than a doctor?

A fellow is a physician who has completed their residency and elects to complete further training in a specialty. An attending physician has completed their training and is practicing independently in their chosen specialty.

What is the hardest Doctor to become?

Competitive programs that are the most difficult to match into include:

  • General Surgery.
  • Neurosurgery.
  • Orthopedic Surgery.
  • Ophthalmology.
  • Otolaryngology.
  • Plastic Surgery.
  • Urology.
  • Radiation Oncology.

How much does an SHO earn in UK?

The average Sho Medicine salary in the United Kingdom is £42,609 per year or £21.85 per hour. Entry level positions start at £36,923 per year while most experienced workers make up to £87,750 per year.

Can you join the SAS as a doctor?

A career as a SAS doctor can be a very satisfying and rewarding alternative to becoming a consultant or GP and there are many different reasons for choosing it as a long or short term career option. A career as a SAS doctor can be a very satisfying and rewarding alternative to becoming a consultant or GP.

What is the highest level of doctor?

medical director
Primary duties: A medical director is the highest level of a doctor, and they hold the most power and responsibility in a hospital or clinic. They coordinate and direct medical and health services for an entire facility or a medical department within a facility.

What is the highest position of doctor?

These were the highest paying doctor jobs in 2019, ranked.

  1. Anesthesiologists. Anesthesiologists put patients to sleep.
  2. Surgeons. HRAUN/Getty Images.
  3. Oral and maxillofacial surgeons. ViDi Studio/Shutterstock.
  4. Obstetricians and gynecologists.
  5. Orthodontists.
  6. Prosthodontists.
  7. Psychiatrists.
  8. Family medicine physicians.

What kind of grades do you get in the NHS?

Medical career grades of the National Health Service; Year Current (Modernising Medical Careers) Previous 1 Foundation doctor (FY1 and FY2), 2 years Pre-registration house officer (PRHO), 1 year 2 Senior house officer (SHO), minimum 2 years; often more 3 Specialty registrar, general practice (GPST), 3 years Specialty registrar,

What kind of grades do doctors get in middle grade?

Junior Middle Grade (CMT1/2, ST1/2, Junior Clinical Fellow and SHO) At this stage, doctors have usually started to get an idea of the area that they will eventually go on to specialise in. This phase of a doctor’s career is about expanding on foundation training and moving towards specialist training.

What’s the hierarchy of doctors in the UK?

HIERARCHY OF DOCTORS 1 Doctors-in-training. You are likely to come across plenty of these – doctors who have done their five years at medical school and are now embarking on their two year foundation 2 Specialty Registrar. 3 Middle-grade doctors. 4 Specialty doctors. 5 Associate specialist doctor. 6 Consultants.

Are there different pay scales for NHS doctors?

NHS trusts can be different: The last thing to consider before we look at the pay scales, is that some NHS Trusts can interpret the pay scales and a doctor’s experience in different ways. All NHS Trusts should be following the same pay scale structures when recruiting and offering salaries to doctors, but this is not always the case!