Who won the 1989 Winston Cup championship?

Rusty Wallace
The 1989 NASCAR Winston Cup Series was the 41st season of professional stock car racing in the United States and the 18th modern-era Cup season. It began February 12 and ended November 19. Rusty Wallace of Blue Max Racing won the championship.

When did the Winston Cup change?

The Winston Million was replaced with a similar program, the Winston No Bull Five, in 1998. This program awarded one million dollars to any driver who won a prestigious race after finishing in the top five of the most previous prestigious race.

When did NASCAR stop Winston Cup?

The final season of Winston Cup racing was bookended by stops in the state of Florida but the 2003 circuit will be forever memorialized right here in Winston-Salem. This month, we’re featuring the last Winston Cup season and the Winston Cup’s 2003 champion, Matt Kenseth.

Why did Winston Cup end?

However, in 2003, hit with an onslaught of lawsuits and anti-tobacco legislation, RJR came to the realization they could no longer continue as NASCAR’s title sponsor, and the three-decade relationship that created the Winston Cup Series had to come to an end.

What cars did NASCAR use in 1985?

Complete schedule

Manufacturer Team Race Driver
Pontiac Means Racing Jimmy Means
RahMoc Enterprises Lake Speed
Buick 8 Chevrolet 1 Ford 4 Bobby Allison Motorsports Bobby Allison
Chrysler 5 Dodge 1 Ford 22 Arrington Racing Morgan Shepherd 1

What is the Winston Cup called now?

The new name of NASCAR’s premier stock car racing tour became the “Winston Cup Grand National Series.” During the Winston Cup Era, NASCAR experienced a significant rise in national prominence.

Is Winston Cup part of NASCAR?

The Era of Winston Cup Winston was the first non-automotive sponsor to enter NASCAR on a fulltime basis. Over the next 33 years, the Winston sponsorship ushered in what is considered to be the “modern era” of NASCAR. The R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company decided to end its sponsorship in 2003.

What cars were used in Nascar in 1988?

1988 NASCAR Winston Cup Series drivers

Make Team No.
Chevrolet Mach 1 Racing 33
Marcis Auto Racing 71
Richard Childress Racing 3
Whitcomb Racing 10

When did the 1989 NASCAR season start and end?

The 1989 NASCAR Winston Cup Season was the 41st season of professional stock car racing in the United States and the 18th modern-era Cup season. It began February 12 and ended November 19.

Who was the Rookie of the Year in 1989?

Rookie of the Year. Dick Trickle was named the 1989 Winston Cup Rookie of the Year, despite entering the competition in the second week of the season, replacing Mike Alexander at Stavola Brothers Racing. The top runner-up was former Dash champion Hut Stricklin, driving for returning car owner Rod Osterlund.

What was Greg Sacks best finish in 1989?

Valleydale Meats 500 1 This would be Greg Sacks best finish of 1989. 2 This was the final NASCAR start for team owner Buddy Arrington with Brad Teague as his final driver. 3 This race would set the all time caution record for the NASCAR Cup Series, this record would hold up for seventeen years before being beaten by the 2005 Coca-Cola 600.